16 enero, 2018 AdminGadea

Manuel Aguilar

Graduation in Physics (1965) and Ph.D in Physics (1969) at the Universidad Complutense, Madrid. Since 1967 has realized research activities at CIEMAT-JEN (Madrid), CERN (Geneva), BNL (New York), Collège de France (Paris), DESY (Hamburg), LBL (Berkeley), MIT (Boston), KSC (Cape Canaveral) and JSC (Houston).

Since 1967 has participated in Particle Physics experiments at the PS, SPS, LEP and LHC accelerators  at CERN and at the AGS accelerator at BNL. Has participated in the CMS-LHC experiment, which discovered the Higgs boson in 2012. Has led the CIEMAT participation in the AMS-ISS experiment (1997-2013), which has accumulated since 2011 more than 100 billion cosmic ray events.

Has been associated to JEN-CIEMAT since 1965. Head of the Division of Particle Physics (1983-1998). Director of the Departments of Fusion and Elementary Particle Physics (1998-2005) and Basic Research (2005-2012). Guest Professor of the CERN Director General (2012-2013). Unpaid Scientific Associate at MIT since 2013.

Member of the Particle Data Group (1981-2005). Member of the European Committee for Future Accelerator (1983-1986). Member of the CERN Super Proton-Synchrotron Experiments Committee (1987-1990). Member of the Committee drafting the Spanish Steering Plan for High Energy Physics (1983). Scientific Manager of the National Program for High Energy Physics (1996-2000). Scientific Delegate of Spain at the CERN Council (2000-2008). Vice President of the CERN Council (2004-2007). Member of the Advisory Committee for Large Scientific Facilities and of the Advisory Committee for Outstanding Scientific Facilities (2001-2008). Co-Founder in 1973 of the International Meeting on Fundamental Physics (1973-2017).  Promoter in 1994 and first President of the Division of High Energy Physics of the Royal Spanish Physical Society. Member of the High Energy Particle Physics Board of the European Physical Society (1998-2000). Member of the C11 (Particles and Fields) IUPAP Committee (2005-2011). Co-Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee of the 37th International Conference on High Energy Physics ICHEP 2014, which took place in Valencia in 2014.

National Award of the Royal Spanish Physical Society for Young Researchers (1973). Fellow of the Juan March Foundation (1977-1978). National Award of the Royal Academy of Sciences (1980). Medal of the Royal Spanish Physical Society (1981). Scientist of the Year, Magazine CAMBIO 16 (1986). C.E.O.E. Award to Science (1997). Most cited Spanish scientist since 1981, according to the Institute of Scientific Information (2008).

Has published more than 750 scientific papers, with a total number of citations larger than 105.000 and impact index h of 128 (“inSPIRE”). Has given more than 250 seminars and has been the thesis advisor in twelve occasions.

In 2000 he was elected Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences. On 2002 he read the entrance dissertation “Particles and Interactions”. On 2013 he read the Opening Lecture of the Academic Year 2013-2014 “From Hess to Higgs. From the spontaneous ionization of air to the spontaneous symmetry breaking in subatomic physics”. Since October 2014 he is the President of the Physics and Chemistry Section of the Royal Academy of Sciences.