22 enero, 2018 AdminGadea

Javier Garcia-Martinez

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Director of the Molecular Nanotechnology Laboratory of the University of Alicante (UA) where he teaches and leads a world’s leading research center on nanomaterials for energy applications.

Founder of the technology-based company Rive Technology, which markets the technology he developed during his Fulbright postdoctoral stay at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Rive Technology has secured more than $ 80 million of venture capital investment and employs more than forty people. Since 2012, the catalysts commercialized by Rive Technology are already used in several US refineries, significantly increasing the production of fuels and the energy efficiency of the process.

Founder and President of Celera, a talent acceleration program in Spain that selects ten exceptional young people each year to give them resources, training and great opportunities. Forty young people have already benefited from this program created by Javier with the Rafael del Pino Foundation and the support of numerous companies and institutions.

Javier’s scientific and business leadership has been recognized with some of the most important awards. In 2007, MIT’s Technology Review magazine selected him as one of the top innovators of his generation and in 2009 the World Economic Forum recognized him as Young Global Leader. In June 2014, he was awarded the Rey Jaime I Prize in his category of New Technologies and since 2015 he is the first Spanish to receive the Emerging Researcher Award from the American Chemical Society and the first person to receive the Award for the Best Spanish Innovation in the USA, given at MIT by the Association of Spanish Scientists in the USA. In the summer of 2017, Javier was recognized by the American Chemical Society with the Kathryn C. Hach Award as the best chemistry entrepreneur in the USA. Javier is a member of the Emerging Technologies Council of the World Economic Forum, of the Young Global Academy, of the Executive Committee of the IUPAC, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.