Ibañez, Luis E.


Luis E. Ibañez

Born in Valencia, November 8th, 1952

Graduate: Universidad Complutense de Madrid, 1974

PhD: Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, 1978

Present: Professor of Theoretical Physics, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid



  • 2015- Deputy Director, Instituto de Física Teórica UAM-CSIC, Madrid
  • 2006-2011- Head of the Theory Department of IFT UAM-CSIC, Madrid
  • 1993-2016- Professor of Physics, Department of Theoretical Physics, UAM, Madrid
  • 1986-1992- Staff Member, CERN (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • 1984-1986- Fellow, CERN (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • 1981-1984- Assistant Professor, Department of Theoretical Physics, UAM, Madrid
  • 1979-1981- Postdoc, Department of Theoretical Physics, Oxford (UK)
  • 1975-1978- PhD, UAM


Some visiting positions

  • July 2008- Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (including lectures at PIPT
  • school)
  • Oct 2003-Oct.2004- Research Associate, Theory Division, CERN (Geneva)
  • 2002- Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara (USA)
  • 1995- Invited Visiting Professor, Rutgers University (USA)
  • All Augusts 1993-2017-Visiting Researcher, Theory Division, CERN (Geneva)


Service at committees

  • 2015- Member of the Panel of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA)
  • 2013- Member of the High Energy Particle Physics Board (HPPB) of the European Physical Society (EPS)
  • 2016- Member of the ‘Comisión de Infraestructuras de Física de Partículas y Aceleradores’ (CIFPA), Spain
  • 2003-2011- Member of the ‘External Advisory Committee’ of CERN Theory Division
  • Served refereeing research projects for many international agencies: ERC, NSF (USA), JSPS (Japan), Humboldt Foundation, ANR (France), UK, Italy, Israel, Argentina, Hong-Kong, Mexico, etc


Awards and Recognitions

  • 2017- Prize ‘Miguel Catalan’ 2016 to the Scientific Career (Madrid Regional Government).
  • 2013-2018 – European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant: ‘String Phenomenology in the LHC era’.
  • 1997- Prize ‘’Iberdrola Science and Technology’’ (80,000 euros award, jury included Hewish (Nobel Prize in Physics 1974), D.R. Herschbach (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1986) and J.M. Lehn (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987)
  • 1986 – Prize ‘King Juan Carlos I’ in Science, (Spanish Ministry of Science and Education)


Editorial Work

  • 1998- Editor of the Journal of High Energy Physics (JHEP)
  • 2004-2013- Associate Editor of Nuclear Physics B (North-Holland, Elsevier)
  • 1994-1997- Editor of ‘Zeitschrift für Physik C. Particles and Fields’ (Springer-Verlag)


Some Grants

  • 2013-2018 ERC Advanced Grant ‘SPLE’, ERC-2012-ADG-20120216-32042
  • 2013- 2017 Principal Investigator of the ‘Severo Ochoa Excellence Program’ for the Instituto de Fisica Teorica UAM-CSIC (4 Million Euros, 2013-2017)
  • 2011-BBVA Foundation grant, Inauguration Conference of IFT Building
  • 2009-2013 Local coordinator, Marie Curie European Network ‘Unification in the LHC Era’
  • 2006-2010 Member of executive committee of Consolider Project ‘CPAN’
  • 2007- BBVA Foundation grant, organization of the conference ‘Strings 2007’
  • 1994-1996 ‘Catedra Iberdrola’ for visiting professors


Citation Record

  • Total number of papers in journals with referee: 137 (165 including proceedings)
  • Total number of citations from inspirehep.net (Stanford): (Nov 2017): 20,600
  • Number of published papers with referee: 142
  • Number of citations per paper with referee: 140.4
  • Number of papers with more than 500 citations (‘Renowned papers’): 6
  • Number of papers in between 250-500 citations (‘Famous papers’): 22
  • Number of papers in between 100-250 citations (‘Very well-known papers’): 30
  • h-index: 73

Author of the book ‘String Theory and Particle Physics’ (with A.Uranga, Cambrige U.P. 2012). The book of reference in the field.