21 febrero, 2019 Mayte Martínez

Berta Rubio

Research Professor at CSIC. Born in Madrid, she studied Physical Sciences as an undergraduate at the Complutense University, Madrid. She carried out her doctoral work in the Nuclear Physics Laboratory Kernforschungsanlage Jülich, Germany and defended her Ph. D Thesis at the University of Granada. After a postdoctoral Fellowship at Jülich, she joined IFIC (Instituto de Física Corpuscular de Valencia), where she has developed her research activities until now. She was one of the pioneers in the development of experimental nuclear physics activity in Spain. Her speciality is the study of exotic nuclei.  She has been the spokesperson of experiments at facilities in several European countries including GSI-Darmstadt and Technische Universität Munich, Germany, LNL, Italy, IPN Orsay and GANIL, France, Cyclotron Research Centre in Louvain la Neuve, Belgium, Univ. Jyväskylä , Finland, ISOLDE-CERN, Switzerland), the United States (Argonne National Laboratory and Oak Ridge National Laboratory) and Japan (RIKEN-Tokyo).

Her current research is focussed on the synthesis of nuclei of very short half-life (milliseconds) in the laboratory. These nuclei do not exist on Earth, but are produced inside stars or in stellar explosions.  The study of the properties of these nuclei helps us to understand the astrophysical processes in which they are created and thus explain the abundance of chemical elements on our Solar System. These studies include the discovery of new isotopes as well as new decay modes. The experiments are carried out at laboratories with particle accelerators and the large complex separators needed to identify and separate nuclear reaction products. B. Rubio is co-author of more than 200 scientific publications and has supervised 11 Ph. D theses. She is also involved in intense evaluation activity, both for the Spanish Science agency and for other European and American agencies. She regularly works as an external evaluator for the European Commission. She is currently a member of the advisory board for scientific activity (Physics Advisory Committee) of NSCL (National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, United States), IPN (Institut de Physique Nucléaire) -Orsay, France and the Canfranc Underground Laboratory.