29 agosto, 2018 AdminGadea

Alberto Ruiz-Jimeno

Senior researcher of the Cantabria Institute of Physics (CSIC- University of Cantabria).

His area of expertise is High Energy Physics; he is Full Professor of Atomic, Molecular and Nuclear Physics of the University of Cantabria since 1991, Scientific Associate of CERN, since 1976 and Visitor Scientific of the Fermi National Laboratory, Fermilab, since 1999. He is the founder of the High Energy Group of the Institute of Physics of Cantabria, and Coordinator of the Spanish Network for Future Colliders, since 2005. He is presently the Vice-Rector for Doctorate and Institutional Relations of the Cantabria University.

He has directed 10 doctoral theses on topics of high relevance in experimental particle physics. He is presently member of the Award Thesis Committee of the big collaboration CMS at the European Laboratory for Particle Physics, CERN.

He was the founder of the first Doctoral School in Spain, the one of the University of Cantabria, in 2010. He participated in the creation of the Spanish Conference of Directors of Doctoral Schools, of which he has been Secretary of the Permanent Commission, until 2016. He is member of the European network in doctoral education (EUA-CDE) since 2011. He has been invited to present the situation of doctoral training and its future prospects by a good number of schools in Spain and Portugal.

He has been involved in several scientific policy committees, doctoral and research panels. He was the Spanish Delegate of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (1989-1998) and the Restricted European Committee for Future Accelerators (1998- 2001).

He is presently member of the Government Board of the Spanish Physics Royal Society and President of the Cantabria Local Section.

He has participated in several experiments with particle accelerators: DELPHI at the Large Electron Positron Collider (LEP) at CERN, CDF at the Tevatron collider of Fermilab, and CMS at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN. He is also member of the future linear collider projects, ILC and CLIC, and elected member of the Executive Board of the International Linear Detector (ILD).

He has contributed to very important phenomenological studies of elementary particles of the second and third generation, such as tau, charm, bottom and top, as well as the phenomenology of the Higgs boson, co-signing more than 1000 papers in scientific journals with peer-review. He was elected as member of the 2016 selection of science by the QUO magazine.

Among his main scientific contributions are: the discovery of the oscillations of Bs mesons in the CDF experiment, a major result of matter-antimatter behaviour, awarded with the 2007 Research Prize of the Social Council of the Cantabria University; the discovery of the single-top production en CDF; and the observation of the Higgs boson in the CMS experiment of CERN, in 2012, for which the CMS collaboration won the Prince of Asturias Award and the European Society of Physics, in 2013.

He has been Director and Editor of several Proceedings of Internationals workshops, and member of several Advisory Boards of High Energy Physics Congress and Schools.