Torner, Lluis


Lluis Torner

He obtained a PhD at the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC) after completing a degree in Physics at the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona. He enjoyed post-doctoral appointments at CREOL, University of Central Florida and at the Optical Sciences Centre, University of Arizona.  He has been Full Professor at the UPC since 2000.  He was promoted to Fellow of the European Physical Society, the European Optical Society and the Optical Society of America. He was the recipient of the Leadership Award of the Optical Society of America of the year 2011 and has been awarded a number of prizes, including the Monturiol Medal in 2010 and the Research Prize of Catalonia of 2016.

Torner conceived, founded, implemented and is leading ICFO (  The institute was launched in 2002 in Barcelona with the mission to become a leading research center in Optics and Photonics. Today it hosts 400 people and is widely considered to be one of the top global research centres in its field.

Torner has served in a number of international academic boards, including the Board of Directors of the European Physical Society’s Quantum Electronics and Optics Division, the International Council of the Optical Society of America, the International Council on Quantum Electronics, the European Commission’s Future and Emerging Technologies Advisory Group and the High-Level Expert Group for the European Quantum Technologies Flagship. He served as the President of the Association of Research Institutions of Catalonia during the period 2009-2014. He is currently the Chair of the European Centres for Outreach in Photonics Alliance, Chair of the Commission for Evaluation of Research Quality of Catalonia, member of the Barcelona Global Executive Board, member of the Board of Stakeholders of the European Technology Platform Photonics21 and member of the Princess of Girona Advisory Board, among others. He also serves in a number of advisory roles and expert panels in numerous academic institutions and funding agencies based in Canada, Australia, the USA and the European Union.